7th Innovation Award Architecture+ Presentation
4. March 2020 | News, Retail News, Shop Fitting, Store Design & Visual Merchandising

Award ceremony at the EuroShop 2020

For the 7th time the architectural journal AIT in cooperation with Messe Düsseldorf, initiated the Innovation Award Architecture+ Presentation during the EuroShop 2020. The Innovation Award is intended for manufacturers of products and solutions for the trade fair and shop construction segment as well as architects, interior designers and designers who work in these areas. The Award was initiated to honour products that correspond to the requirements of architects to a special degree. The prize recognises conceptual solutions for selected objects and products, which satisfy in design and functionality. Important assessment criteria are the authenticity of materials and the variety of application.

A jury of five renowned architects and interior designers decided from 31 displayed products upon the winners on 16 February 2020.

The award ceremony took place on Sunday, 16 February 2020 at 5pm at the Innovation Award stand (Entrance South/ Foyer Hall 1, Stand EF01).

In addition to announcing the winners of the Innovation Award, Jurek Slapa (slapa oberholz pszczulny | architekten, Düsseldorf) gave a keynote speech on their “Neue Messe Süd” project.

In total, one Innovation Award, two Special Mentions and three Mentions were awarded.

All participating products are displayed for the entire duration of the fair at the Innovation Award stand (Entrance South/ Foyer Hall 1, Stand EF01). In addition, all participants will be published in a special section of AIT after the fair.

Innovation Award Architecture+ Presentation 2020

Product: Touch Surface Company: Abet Laminati S.P.A. Stand: 11 / D32

Jury statement: A widely known product with a common surface surprisingly turns into an interface with poetic potential. The recognizability of the interface becomes a graphic event or simply a secret for insiders because of the continuity of the material. Here an immense variety of interpretation is made possible for designers of spaces and objects.

Special Mention

Product: Barrisol Clim® Company: Barrisol® Normalu® SAS Stand: 11 / C35

Jury statement: The ceiling convinces by its simplicity and purity of form. An even ceiling impression, behind which a lot of technology is hidden without losing its effectiveness. Complex technology, calm appearance! A product for architects and interior designers.

Product: MAGNWALL Product Display Company: MagnWall GmbH Stand: 10 / B34

Jury statement: The infinite transformability without visible grid and frame is convincing! No matter whether it is a stele, box or wall surface, the intelligent technology and modularity stands in the background. Instead of costly assembly and wiring, the focus is on fast placement and mounting of display and lighting elements via magnetic contacts.


Product: Modulap ONE Sixpack Company: MODULAP GmbH Stand: 12 / C25

Jury statement: Modulap ONE Sixpack is a pop-up object; a young, innovative design for quick assembly and a striking image for all kinds of topics and uses from trade fairs to shops. Perfect for a generation used to being mobile and socialised for versatile use.

Product: Drop Cake Company: Procédés Chénel International Stand: 11 / G24

Jury statement: This panel material that is produced from waste and is lighter than most conventional panel materials is rated positively. It is considered that a multi-purpose use is nevertheless guaranteed. Furthermore the jury appreciates the sustainable approach of the product.

Product: Liquid Dispenser Company: umdasch The Store Makers Stand: 12 / C55

Jury statement: Waste prevention in the retail sector is a constant and highly relevant topic. With the Liquid Dispenser the umdasch company is supporting a process of rethinking, the continuation of which the jury urgently wishes to see carried forward by producers and retailers through an even wider range of products.

The participants:

Abet Laminati S.P.A. Güntner GmbH & Co. KG
Bäro GmbH & Co. KG HMY Group S.A.S.
Barrisol® Normalu® SAS IVC Group
beMatrix MagnWall GmbH
Burkhardt Leitner modular spaces GmbH RUCO LICHT GmbH
Procédés Chénel International Self-Electronics Germany GmbH
Expomobil® Messezubehör-Vertriebs-GmbH umdasch The Store Makers
FEELUX CO., Ltd Vorwerk & Co. Teppichwerke GmbH & Co. KG
FRESCOLORI.de GmbH Wanzl GmbH & Co. KGaA
Gerflor Mipolam GmbH WINDMÖLLER GmbH

The jury:

Heike Falkenberg, FALKENBERG, Düsseldorf
Gerhard Kalhöfer, Kalhöfer – Korschildgen /// Architekten, Köln
Bettina Kratz, kplus konzept GmbH, Düsseldorf
Jurek Slapa, slapa oberholz pszczulny | architekten, Düsseldorf
Peter Uedingslohmann, Corneille Uedingslohmann Architekten, Köln


Source: Gesellschaft für Knowhow-Transfer in Architektur und Bauwesen mbH

Tags: , , ,

Related Articles